Christmas Music!

Music!  Music lifts us out of the depths of our being and makes us feel buoyant again.  And now, there is the Christmas music. There are so many variations of Christmas music during our seasonal celebration!

We hear songs sung in hip-hop, jazz, rock, folk, country and western, classical, pop, rhythm and blues, to name a few.  But every genre of music celebrates Christmas!

If we do not listen to the radio, then the television shows will pull us into the spirit.  And if we do not look at television, when we go shopping, there will certainly be Christmas music playing as we spend our hard-earned dollars.

There is music and then there is music.  When I hear Nat King Cole crooning,” Chestnuts roasting on an open fire,” (The Christmas Song) I know that I can do longer delay the fact that it is indeed Christmas. I know it is time to make a list and check it twice; regardless to who has been naughty or nice.

We may hear Johnny Mathis singing, “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas.” Or Bing Crosby may be singing his traditional tune,” I’m dreaming of a white Christmas (White Christmas).  After doing a little fact-checking, it is said that Irving Berlin wrote this song while visiting the LaQuinta Hotel in LaQuinta, California.  The words started flowing and he told his secretary to start writing (Wikipedia).

Here a few of my favorites:

Little Drummer Boy

I’ll Be Home for Christmas

Santa Claus goes straight to the ghetto – James Brown

Silent Night

Oh Holy Night

We Three Kings

Santa Baby- Eartha Kitt

Do You Hear What I Hear?

This Christmas –  Donnie Hathaway

Rock around the Christmas Tree

Baby, it’s Cold Outside

I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus

I will stop there.  What are some of your favorite Christmas songs?

Lynn                                                                                                  December 17, 2014

2 thoughts on “Christmas Music!

  1. Lynn, I also enjoy the same Christmas songs that you listed. My favorites are Donnie Hathaway’s “This Christmas” and Nat King Cole’s “Christmas Song”. I don’t get into the Christmas spirit until I hear the music. Some of the songs like “Silent Night” and “Oh, Holy Night” bring back memories of singing at midnight mass at St. Anselm’s in elementary school. Music can certainly transcend time!

Leave a Reply

