Painting: A Creative Outlet!

I find great comfort in painting. I am not a professional painter by any means, but I see the aesthetic beauty in artwork and I appreciate nice art pieces that appeal to me. Often those of us with a creative spirit can do a variety of things such as write, sketch, paint, create poems or play a musical instrument. We see colors whether in words, in melodies or on a piece of canvas.

Plutarch says, Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks.”

We paint pictures on a blank page through word play when we write a poem or create a story. We paint pictures when we play a musical instrument. When reading to the children, I sometimes added a little music to story time by playing on a wooden flute or harmonica at intervals. The children’s eyes would light up and widen when they heard the sounds which further painted the story in their minds.

But speaking of truly painting itself, I have painted some rather intricate paint-by number sets. I know. It is cheating, but some of them actually turn out quite nicely. I have put poems on canvas using calligraphy and added a design. And, I have sketched pictures on a piece of canvas and then painted them. They are my keepsakes and they represent stages of my life because I always date my work. Pablo Picasso writes, Painting is just another way of keeping a diary.”

I will look at a picture and try to replicate it, which works better for an amateur artist. And, once I have decided on an image to sketch, I do so. When I am ready to paint, , I pull out my paints and brushes and try to cover the area for protection of the furniture. I set everything up and I am ready to start.

The actual painting of the picture can be a comforting venture when there has been too much reading or writing.  Edward Hopper writes, “If you could say it in words, there would be no reason to paint.” So when there has been enough interaction with the printed word, painting is a pastime that can be stretched out over time. It is calming and soothing as I change the colors that I need. Just dipping the paint brush into the water cup to rinse off colors is a slow thoughtful process which adds to the feeling of peace.

“Painting is the silence of thought and the music of sight,” according to Orhan Pamuk, My Name is Red

A large variety of colors helps because it gives me more choices and there is the opportunity to mix colors for different effects. Also, having a large array of paint brushes of different sizes allows me to make more intricate designs. Painting is one of many ways of continually flowing forward. I believe, I believe every day is a good day when you paint,” says Bob Ross. It is a great creative outlet!

January 7th 048

Lynn                                                                                                     January 14, 2015

Leave a Reply

