National Poetry Month

Writing poetry comes fairly easy for me.  I first realized that while in college after I was inspired to pen a few poems.  Most dealt with the affairs of the heart which normally spark feelings and emotions.

Later, I was asked to write a poem when I was a prom sponsor at one of the high schools.  In a short amount of time, I wrote one called “Intimate Essences of Joy.”  It was printed on the prom bids and I spoke on behalf of the students.   I thought of how they would be feeling as they were about to graduate and move on to the next level.

So, on occasion, if some subject speaks to me and if my muses are in agreement, I will write a poem.  Ralph Waldo Emerson writes, “Painting was called silent poetry and poetry speaking painting.”  Poets paint images through their use of words, which may or may not rhyme.  I attempt to rhyme and lately, I have tried to get an even number of beats and rhythm.

April is National Poetry Month and I have written a select number of poems to salute the month of poetry.  Many poets have inspired me along the way and some of my favorites include: Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, Langston Hughes, Shel Silverstein, Dr. Seuss, Robert Frost and Maya Angelou.

And then, there are those poets that I have had the opportunity to see and hear as they read their creative pieces.  They are: Nikki Giovanni, Quincy Troupe, Sonya Sanchez and Gwendolyn Brooks.  Some poets have written eternal pieces that are usually posted somewhere in my home. Those works include, Waiting by John Burroughs; The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost  and Desiderata by Max Ehrmann.

This list of beloved poets and poems could go on and on, but I will stop here.  Happy National Poetry Month!  Enjoy the poems, the verse and words which could be turned into lyrics.   Read what we poets are posting after the Muses graciously said, “Yes.”

Lynn                                                                                                                           April 1, 2015

Leave a Reply

