The Beauty of Change!

I recently did a slideshow on all of the places that I’ve lived over the past years. It was nostalgic as I visited my old haunts and stomping grounds through Google Earth. To those deeply rooted persons who have spent most of their years in one locale, they would probably say, “Wow!”

I said, “Wow, too, after I started the project. But for me, giving up was not an option so I just went with the flow. Dr. Wayne Dyer said that we should bless our roofs and shelters and this allowed me to take a brief look back.

As we know, jobs come and go and those determined to hold on must change with the ebb and flow of the tides. In retrospect, all of the movement has made me quite a chameleon continually changing with the times. I did not understand it then, but I now see that the Muses were graciously preparing me as a writer.

Benjamin Franklin said, “Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.” I would venture to say that good writers need good material and that often comes from a wide range of experiences.

I am reminded of a book that I read a couple of years ago as a Battle of the Books coach called The Mighty Miss Malone by Christopher Paul Curtis. During The Great Depression, her family became homeless and transient. They had set out to find their father who had gone off to look for a job and hadn’t returned to provide for the family. Their money had run out and they were forced to move on.

During their wanderings, they ended up in a tent city right outside the city of Flint, Michigan. I could picture the place as I read these words.
“We walked past hut after hut and tent after tent. Some of the places looked like Father or some other real carpenter had put them together, some looked like they’d just tumbled down off a tornado. Miss Shew showed me where she lived with her little boy, it was just like all the other places neat and tired.” (p. 194)

After, Deza Malone, the main character, had settled into their temporary home, here were her first questions.
“Ma’am? Does Flint have a library and what’s the limit of books I can check out?’
‘Of course! It’s ‘bout a twenty-five minute walk from here. But you won’t be able to
check out any books unless you’ve got a Flint address to put down. You a big reader?’
‘I live for books! One day I may even be a writer.”
(pgs. 196-197)

Many writers and artists experience their fair share of turbulence in their lives. Works of beauty are often created out of some inner frustrations. Priceless pearls and butterflies evolve after a series of agitations and frictions. Maya Angelou said, “We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve beauty.”

So, during those unsettling changes, we should keep creating and surely some beautiful work of art will emerge!

Lynn
May 11, 2015

Leave a Reply

