Newspapers: Online or Actual Paper?

Suntimes

Which do you prefer?  An online newspaper or an actual paper?  As the saying goes, “A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.” I have some history with newspapers.  I have seen the big presses roll out the new, fresh copies.  It is something to witness! And I saw a few older gentlemen in Georgia who were typesetters.  They were up in age because they were a part of a dying art form and considered The Last of the Mohicans.  Setting the print was a very tedious process before the advent of the PC and the Internet.

I  took an A.B. Dick Offset Printing course at a local community college while in Georgia. So, I have smelled that fresh ink and with all of that said, my leanings are towards a real newspaper.  If the work week is hectic and I cannot find the time to go through a paper during the week, I will occasionally pick up the Sunday paper.

Going through the many articles can take hours. I can take breaks or eat snacks as I leisurely move through the paper.  I can relish each of the chosen tidbits and it is also a great way to get new ideas for writing.  Reading and writing will always go hand in hand.

With a real newspaper, I can pause. I can fold it to focus in on one particular article.  I can clip articles that I think are too valuable to throw away.  I probably got that from my Aunt Louise.  She had clipped articles throughout her apartment. She even dated some of the clippings and some were in her Bible.

When I want to read the news online, they often want to show a video instead. One commenter wrote, “I can read.”  But even if there is an actual article of the news story, I have to move at a pace that I might not find feasible.  Or I have to scroll down or wait for the computer to finish buffering.

With an actual printed copy in hand, I can move at my own speed.  I can read articles that may not have made the electronic circuit.  If I don’t get to all of it on the day of publication, I can pick up some sections the next day. One woman reminded me that “There is nothing as old as yesterday’s news.”  But for sections such as Book Reviews or the Arts and Entertainment , they can be enjoyed any time during the week and still be considered current.

So give me a real newspaper and if I sniff real close, on a good day, I might be able to get a whiff of that wet ink!  Which do  you prefer?

Lynn M.                                                                                                       July 14, 2015

2 thoughts on “Newspapers: Online or Actual Paper?

  1. I am with you here, Lynn. I don’t read a newspaper very often, but when I do, I like to browse through it and take my time. Sometimes, it provides me with reading material for a whole week! Online newspapers are just not the same!

Leave a Reply

