Jobs!

When one door closes, another opens!  Do we really believe this to be true?  I have seen it and witnessed this time and time again.  I know it to be a truth.

I think mostly about jobs when I think of doors opening and closing.  I have seen them come and I have seen them go.  Some of us are fortunate enough to have one or two jobs during our lifetimes.  But each of us is different, with different paths and I can safely say that this has not been true for me.

As the Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s lines go, ‘How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.‘  So comparably, I write, ‘Jobs? How have you changed me?  Let me count the ways.’  Those many jobs have turned me into quite a chameleon. I can change like its colors and wear the hat for the occasion.

The beautiful part of the whole deal is that I have acquired multiple skills along the way.  When jobs have been scarce, I have worked as a temporary in various cities.  I can file, stuff envelopes, answer phones and do small, yet essential tasks with a level of ease.  And my professional skills, for which I trained, can be added to the mix.

The adage goes, Jack of all trades, master of none.  I would say that I am Jackie of many trades and the master of a few!  Sometimes, we have to fall in line with the title of Oliver Goldsmith’s play called, She Stoops to Conquer.  When our backs are up against the wall, we may have to put some of our ego in a suitcase and close it gently; roll up our sleeves; dive in and get busy.

It doesn’t matter who we used to be; it is about who we are becoming.  Surely, someone will see our merit as we gracefully, graciously and gratefully go along with the changes in our lives.  Then, we will transform from a complaining, crawling caterpillar into a beautifully-winged butterfly that is ready to take flight!

Lynn M.

October 11, 2015

2 thoughts on “Jobs!

  1. Sometimes it’s just life that pushes us from one to the next, but there’s always an upside even if it’s not what we wanted. New skills are always useful!

Leave a Reply

