Toss It!

The other day I decided to start cleaning out a closet that is filled with boxes.  It is my December project because I thought it would be a good way to end the year.  A Zen proverb says, “Knowledge is learning something every day.  Wisdom is letting go of something every day.”

I am continually reminding myself that it is okay to release things as I let certain items go.  My mother often said, “It has served its purpose.”  It is so easy to become a packrat or even a hoarder.  We must let go so that we can free up that space for the new.

We have the memories but we do not have to hold on to every momento.  Those moments of delight are only one thought away.  If we take the time to reminisce, we can remember the good times with a great degree of clarity.

Librarians call it weeding.  It normally has to be a secret mission  because coworkers think that we are throwing away perfectly good books.  They can become incensed and outraged when they see loads of books being discarded.  They don’t know that there is a method to the madness and that we have standards to follow as we decide what is outdated.

Oftentimes we, as librarians, have to disguise the throwaways in large garbage bags.  Otherwise, the books may end up back in the library by some book lover!

As 2015 draws to a close, it is important for us to create a vacuum and clear out those spaces. Old items can be unconscious blocks because we are still attached to times that have gone by.  If we can lovingly release and let them go, we can make room for the new.   If we can’t part with some things, then, that’s okay.  Maybe next year or at another time.

I am asking myself, “Do I need this?  Is there space for it?  Will I use it again?”  So, I am tossing and tossing and tossing.  And guess what?  It feels good!  It is liberating because I know that I am clearing the passages for the new, fresh and wonderful to fly to me from all directions!

Lynn M.                                                              December 15, 2015   let it go

 

Leave a Reply

