Privacy Please!

Do not disturb

I recently heard a special concert on the radio and the lyrics and tone of the artist touched my soul. His croon actually tugged at my heart as he appealed to his love interest in so many different ways.

 I enjoyed the music and the audience’s reaction to the performance. I searched and searched the Internet to see who this singer could possibly be.  Finally, as his songs became even more endearing, I discovered that I was listening to Ray LaMontagne.

The recording was so crisp and clear and I felt as if I was sitting there.  I could tell that it was being held in a small and quaint setting because the instruments sounded so rich. I thought that it was actually a live performance, but I later discovered that it was recorded back in 2005.  He played at a venue called Double Door on Chicago’s north side.

Once I had his name, I found his image and then I could really imagine myself sitting there swaying to his songs.  I continually read about LaMontagne’s background and read that he was one of six children who was born in New Hampshire. He now lives in Massachusetts with his wife and sons.

It also said that he rarely gives interviews.  This struck me and I truly understood.  Many artists come out when they want to or if they need to connect with the world.  That is how lyricists like Montagne can create such heart-warming pieces.

It is basically done in solitude or with a select few who are a part of the creative process.  Interviews may pose an imposition because oftentimes questions cannot be answered.  Artists cannot always explain how they do what they do.   They just do.

Those gifts must be refined and that takes time. So, huge lines of demarcation are put up and personal space is demanded.  A Privacy Please sign may be posted on that studio or office door and it should be heeded. Creativity flows in starts and spurts and too many obstructions can clog the flow.

Amelia Earhart said, “Never interrupt someone doing what you said couldn’t be done.”  So, in all fairness to those who want to know how artists make their audiences or readers smile or respond the way those people did at Double Door as they listened to the Ray LaMontagne, I would say,  “Step backGive the artists the privacy that they need.”  Then, enjoy the spiritual ride when they are ready to share those jewels with the world!.”

Lynn M.                                                                 February 4, 2016

4 thoughts on “Privacy Please!

  1. Thank you, Lynn. A wonderful post.
    Sometimes all the hoo-ha of promotion – rather than just quietly putting work out there – feels altogether too much; ‘not waving, but drowning’.

Leave a Reply

