Where Do You Go??

William Wordsworth wrote The World is Too Much with Us many years ago. I often think of  his words when I look at the daily happenings. Here are a few lines from that poem:

“The world is too much with us, late and soon.
We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!
For this, for everything, we are out of time.”

Those words still ring true today. After listening to the news, we all need to find a place to go after being rocked and swayed by events. Whitney Houston sang “I Go to the Rock,” from The Preacher’s Wife Soundtrack.  She sang:

“I go to the rock for my salvation.
I run to the mountain and the mountain stands by me.”

Well, I go to the lake. It calms me. I can breathe. I remember Thich Nhat Hanh’s words, “Breathe, You are Alive!”

  • I can breathe out and release some of the unsettling things.
  • I can let go of what I have seen and heard.
  • I can breathe out the outmoded thoughts and ideas.
  • I can just breathe and sit in the silence.

And then, I can inhale.

  • I can inhale new ideas.
  • I can inhale new beginnings.
  • I can inhale and chart new plans of action.
  • I find a new source of energy as I regroup, refocus, renew, revamp, refresh and reflect.

I  return to the daily routines feeling rewarded. It is imperative for me!

Where do you go when it has all simply become too much?

Lakefront 16

Lynn M.                                                                                                                         July 26, 2016

Leave a Reply

