Where do you write?

Writing 2 7-7

Do you have a specific place where you jot down your ideas?  Some writers dutifully write at their desks and tap out what they need to put down.  Ideally, this is perfect, but sometimes my ideas will not wait until I reach that designated writing space.

While driving, my ideas may start to flow.  I have had to pull over to a safe spot and capture them before they evaporated into thin air.  Or, I have conducted a quick map search to locate the closest public library.  I’ve gone inside, found a big sturdy table and wrote until I had no more to say at that point. On planned writing days, I often drive to the lakefront and write in my car or write while I sit close to the water while listening to the calming waves.

Writing is a solitary enterprise and the slightest disruption can sometimes halt the entire process.  But good writers can tune out a lot of things.  Actually voices, laughter or men working can serve as incentives. Those sounds can act as a backdrop to life’s movements and contribute to describing a scene.

Like prayer, there is nothing neither boastful nor showy about the writing process.  The Bible speaks of the hypocrisy of public prayer and how men should not pray ‘to be seen of men.’  Most writers write out of the view of others and many live like hermits  They want to share their final products with the world, but the actual process is often done in private hovels.

The writer just needs to empty the mind of those dammed up ideas and let them flow out into the universe.  Sometimes it can wait until a specific place is reached but the overflow can happen anywhere. Those ideas are like jumping fish and the net has to be flung or cast out to catch as many of them as possible. Otherwise, some other writer may be the first to put them in a more marketable form.

Where do you write?

Lynn M.                                                                                                     July 8, 2017

 

 

4 thoughts on “Where do you write?

  1. I find that in very busy places I get distracted, I want to watch all the activity around me, to place stories to the people I see. Plus, when I write I often speak out loud to test what I am about to write, to make sure it flows smoothly. So I might unconsciously do that with other people around and then be very emarrassed at being caught talking to myself…. haha. Altogether, though, my favourite place is in my room, with a cup of tea in my hand, and with music playing in the background. 🙂

  2. I love this, Lynn – it’s full of your gentle encouragement. I’ve a blog post on a similar topic in the pipeline. (Have to say though, my workspace is nowhere near as tidy and tranquil as yours!)

Leave a Reply

